We all have had random reactions. Those reactions where you were sure that everything you ate was safe. Well, we are here to shed some light on a few products that may contain hidden allergens. 

  1. Olive Oils may Contain Hazelnuts 

Who knew?! Some companies place small traces of hazelnuts into olive oils to make sure that they maintain their freshness. Furthermore, the nutty flavor of the hazelnuts are believed to contribute to the flavor and bring out the saltiness in the oil. On the contrary, fancier restaurants and brands may not use nuts because they make their olive oil on a daily basis. My favorite olive oil that does not contain hazelnuts is Lucini Olive Oil!

2. Eggs can be Found in Marshmallows 

Eggs? Marshmallows? Strange combo! Some marshmallow companies refrain from using gelatin in their treats to try and cut down on the sugar intakes. Egg whites, when whipped, can create the fluffy texture that marshmallows need. I don’t know about you, but I prefer the gelatin! Dandies Marshmallow are not only free of eggs, but also don’t contain Peanuts, Tree Nuts, Milk, Wheat, Fish, Shellfish, or Corn! 

Picture from Good Luck Charlie 

3. Soy Sauces can Include Gluten

Sadly, some brands incorporate gluten into their soy sauces. Soy Sauce can be made using fermented wheat. As many may know, wheat contains gluten. Kikkoman Soy Sauces have a specific version that is Gluten Free.  Picture from The Princess Bride 

4. Peanuts can be Hidden in Gravy and Pesto 

Picture from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

“Woah” is right, Ron! The saltiness of peanuts are sometimes used for a seasoning in gravy. They additionally bring out the flavors of spices, like cayenne pepper. Some variations of pestos will substitute pine nuts for peanuts to retrieve a different flavor. Buitoni Pesto is free of Peanuts. 

5. Milk can be Used in Deli Meats

This cow is just as shocked as I am! Milk proteins and dairy products can be found in your local butcher shop or your grocery store’s deli section. The milk protein, casein, is the culprit in this situation. Casein can be used as the lining of meats and as a preservative. Boar’s Head has a line of meats that are dairy free! 

Today’s moral of the story is to ALWAYS read the labels. Read them even if you have tried the product before. That random reaction may not be so random. Thank you for reading. Hope this article helps!